some kind of peace – piano reworks

some kind of peace – piano reworks

Ólafur Arnalds

28 Oct 2022

“A song is never finished. A piece of music can take on any form, evolve and breathe with whomever is playing it.” – Ólafur Arnalds

The innovative modern classical composer, performer and producer, Ólafur Arnalds, brings together a diverse group of friends and collaborators for ‘some kind of peace — piano reworks’ – out now via Mercury KX. With the piano central to each track, the album’s sonic world ranges from classical strings to ambient electronics. Ólafur invites these ten artists to experiment and recreate his last album ‘some kind of peace’ – an album which featured Ólafur’s two Grammy-nominated tracks, ‘The Bottom Line’ (feat. Bonobo) and ‘Loom’ (feat. Josin).

Collaboration is the cornerstone of Ólafur’s work. Calling upon his creative community, he believes that music can live on as a moving, breathing organism. As he notes, “The heart of a song lives in the performer”. Released in October, this distinctive 10-track album celebrates each artist’s individual character, sound and interpretation as the essence of each song. The line-up spans modern classical, electronic, jazz and alternative worlds, performed by globally-admired South Korean pianist and composer Yiruma, American pianist and composer Dustin O’Halloran, genre-blurring UK jazz pianist, producer and rapper Alfa Mist, electronic producer Machinedrum’s alter-ego tstewart, singer-songwriter, producer and composer JFDR, Berlin’s pianist, producer and composer Lambert, Australian pianist and composer Sophie Hutchings, cinematic pianist and composer Eydís Evensen and cross-genre pianist, composer and producer Magnús Jóhann.

1. Eydís Evensen: Loom (Piano, Violin, Viola, Cello, Double Bass)
2. Hania Rani: Woven Song (Piano, Vocals)
3. Dustin O’Halloran: Spiral (Piano)
4. Sophie Hutchings: Still / Sound (Piano)
5. Lambert: Back To The Sky (Piano, Guitar, Drums)
6. Alfa Mist: Zero (Piano)
7. tstewart: New Grass (Piano, Guitar, Electronics)
8. JFDR: The Bottom Line (Piano, Vocals)
9. Yiruma: We Contain Multitudes (Piano)
10. Magnús Jóhann: Undone (Piano)

Newsletter Sign Up